​David Gilmour recorded part of the single "Rattle That Lock" on iPhone at the station

This fall, the guitarist and one of Pink Floyd's leaders David Gilmour's new album comes out. In anticipation of the fourth full-length album release, the musician has shared its title song "Rattle That Lock".

The track is opening with four notes, written by Michaël Boumendil for the French railway stations, that sound before the operator announcement. David Gilmour recorded them on his iPhone at Aix-en-Provence station.

The lyric for this song and for most of the album's tracks were written by Polly Samson, inspired by the second book of John Milton's poem "Paradise Lost". The single also features The Liberty Choir and singers Mica Paris and Louise Marshall.

"Rattle That Lock" was produced by David Gilmour, together with Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera. The cover artwork has been art directed by Dave Stansbie from The Creative Corporation, under the creative directorship of Aubrey Powell from the legendary Hipgnosis studio. The album comes out on September 18 via Columbia.


  1. 5 A.M. (Gilmour)
  2. Rattle That Lock (Gilmour/Samson/Boumendil)
  3. Faces Of Stone (Gilmour)
  4. A Boat Lies Waiting (Gilmour/Samson)
  5. Dancing Right In Front Of Me (Gilmour)
  6. In Any Tongue (Gilmour/Samson)
  7. Beauty (Gilmour)
  8. The Girl In The Yellow Dress (Gilmour/Samson)
  9. Today (Gilmour/Samson)
  10. And Then…..(Gilmour)

Pink Floyd's latest album "The Endless River" was released in November, 2014, 20 years after "The Division Bell" release. Last May, the band has also unleashed the music video "Marooned", filmed near Chernobyl.

"Rattle That Lock" cover artwork

Also listen to: Cover of "Hey You" from Pink Floyd tribute album


NOTE: Meaningless or biased comments may be removed by moderator, author of such comments may be banned.