Sólstafir’s new track "Silfur-Refur" premiere

Ahead of the sixth album "Berdreyminn" release, the Icelandic post-metal band Sólstafir unveiled the third track from the upcoming LP — "Silfur-Refur".

The 10-inch single "Silfur-Refur" in two versions will be sold in limited quantities at the Roadburn Festival in the Netherlands from April 20 to 23, later the release will be available through Season of Mist. The A-side of the single contains album track "Silfur-Refur", B-side — the track "Scorpion Moonrise", recorded with Mathew 'Kvohst' McNerney (Hexvessel, ex-Beastmilk).

The band’s frontman Aðalbjörn Tryggvason comments on the premiere track:

"The song "Silfur-Refur" revolves around having a sick ghost version of yourself taking control of your life. You resist with all you have, but you simply don’t stand a chance. It travels with you all the time, asleep or awake. The song was written in a few parts – with the intro being one of them. We knew right away that this would be the opener of the album."

The singer also adds a few words about the B-side:

"The other track, "Scorpion Moonrise" was written in only one day, on which we also recorded the demo. The moment, the opening riff kicked in, I already pictured Mat singing it since the riff reminded me so much of Hexvessel – as in their powerful live performances that we have witnessed many times while touring with them. As we are good friends and have followed Mat’s career in Void, Code, DHG, Hexvessel, Beastmilk, and Grave Pleasures, we all agreed that he would be the perfect guy to lay down his vocals on it. We just love the result and he made the song into what it is today. It’s also nice to hear a bit of English again in Sólstafir as we have used that language in the past – and also continue our tradition to occasionally invite guest singers."

The release of Sólstafir’s sixth album "Berdreyminn" will be held on May 26 via Season of Mist. The band previously has released two tracks from the forthcoming LP — "Bláfjall" and "Ísafold".

See also: Sólstafir reveal live video "Dagmál", announcing new album


  1. Silfur-Refur
  2. Ísafold
  3. Hula
  4. Nárós
  5. Hvít Sæng
  6. Dýrafjörður
  7. Ambátt
  8. Bláfjall

"Silfur-Refur" single cover

Sólstafir Silfur-Refur

"Berdreyminn" cover

Photo by Falk-Hagen Bernshausen


NOTE: Meaningless or biased comments may be removed by moderator, author of such comments may be banned.