Darkthrone reveal first single "The Hardship of the Scots" from new album

Norwegian black metallers Darkthrone will release the 17th full-length album, "Old Star", on May 31 via Peaceville Records. Ahead of the release, the band unveiled their first single "The Hardship of the Scots" which can be checked above.

Commenting on the upcoming record on Facebook, the band members said: "It’s like the 80s never left! We are back with the RIFFS and more metal than EVER!!!"

Sanford Parker (Dirge, Minsk, Voivod, Yob) was responsible for "Old Star" mixing, and Jack [Conrow], who was previously handled mastering of Darkthrone’s albums "The Underground Resistance Mastering" and "Arctic Thunder", was responsible for mastering. The cover artistry comes of Chadwick St John’s artwork "The Shepherd of the Deep".

"Old Star" is available for pre-order on cassette, CD, and vinyls (in green, purple and black colors) here. The band’s previous album "Arctic Thunder" was released in 2016.

Read also: "Darkthrone, Burzum, Mayhem, church burning, and Satanism are just a small part of black metal". Interview with writer Dayal Patterson


  1. I Muffle Your Inner Choir
  2. The Hardship of the Scots
  3. Old Star
  4. Alp Man
  5. Duke of Gloat
  6. The Key Is Inside the Wall

"Old Star" cover


NOTE: Meaningless or biased comments may be removed by moderator, author of such comments may be banned.