​Arsis release lyric video "Hell Sworn" on track from upcoming album

The American, Virginia Beach-based, death metal outfit Arsis released the lyric video "Hell Sworn" on the track from the upcoming album "Visitant". The band's new 6th studio record will be released on November 2 via Agonia Records (Europe, the rest of the world) and Nuclear Blast Records (North, South, and Central America).

According to a press release, Arsis shines as a standout in the technical, melodic death metal genre. The quartet derived its name from the musical term "arsis and thesis", in which "arsis" refers to the unaccented part of a measure. The name's origin comes as no surprise, considering co-founder's James Malone's classical education in music (James' a skilled violinist and a composition major), which in turn ads a whole new layer to the way in which Arsis sounds. And the sound is powerful. Arsis makes death metal that is righteously tinged with black & thrash influences but is completely dedicated to expanding the reaches of melodicism and technicality in the genre. "Visitant", the band's sixth studio album, offers a glimpse at a band in its peak form; the same band which recorded 2013's, Billboard-charting "Unwelcome", featuring The Black Dahlia Murder guitarist Brandon Ellis.

Arsis commented on "Visitant": "With a meticulous attention to detail and hooks, we feel as though we have created our most honest and dark record to date".

Guitarist & vocalist James Malone elaborates: "I wanted to do something different with the lyrical themes for this album and it was just a natural move to incorporate a passion for horror into Visitant. As I was doing my part of the writing I tried to capture the tone and atmosphere of some of my favorite films (Silver Bullet, From Beyond, Prince Of Darkness). It was a very satisfying and fun album to write and I think it might be what fans consider a 'worthy follow-up' to A Diamond For Disease".

On the first single and its video [see it below — Noizr], James added: "Tricking the Gods is inspired by my love of werewolf movies, specifically Stephen King’s Silver Bullet. I really liked the idea that everyone in the town was looking for this beast and it turned out to be the person they least expected: the minister. That blurred line between good and evil, heaven and hell made perfect songwriting fuel".

"Visitant", the band's first new album in five years, was recorded, mixed and mastered at Audio Hammer Studio with famed metal producer Mark Lewis(Whitechapel, Devildriver, Cannibal Corpse). The album is replete with cover artwork and layout from Mark Riddick (Arch Enemy, Morbid Angel, Varathron) and features the guest appearance of Trevor Strand (The Black Dahlia Murder) and Malcolm Pugh (Inferi). Arsis are James Malone (vocals, guitars), Noah Martin (bass), Brandon Ellis (guitars), and Shawn Priest (drums).

In support of the new album, Arsis is co-headlining this year's "Bloodletting Tour" with Decrepit Birth in North America. European dates will be announced soon. Pre-order "Visitant" here.

Album formats:

  • Jewelcase CD
  • Jewelcase CD with slipcase and patch
  • Gatefold Black Vinyl (with insert)
  • Gatefold Ultra Clear White / Gray Smoke Vinyl (with insert and double sided poster)
  • T-shirt (two versions)
  • Digital.


  1. Tricking The Gods
  2. Hell Sworn
  3. Easy Prey
  4. Fathoms
  5. As Deep As Your Flesh
  6. A Pulse Keeping Time With The Dark
  7. Funeral Might
  8. Death Vow
  9. Dead Is Better
  10. Unto The Knife
  11. His Eyes (Pseudo Echo Cover)

"Visitant" cover


NOTE: Meaningless or biased comments may be removed by moderator, author of such comments may be banned.